1983 - 1997: England

These maps have been created by the author of this website working backwards in time from the current boundaries.  The data for 2010 boundaries is sourced from Ordnance Survey Open Data and permission to use this is gratefully acknowledged.

Hovering over any map will reveal the constituency name (in the same format as used in the rest of this site) - this will be centred within the constituency, but clicking on the map will show the constituency name at the point clicked.

If you wish to download the data to use in your own application you may do this using the share icon towards the top left of the map.  This gives an option for data download, in a variety of formats. Using geojson, for example, should allow the data to be imported into a GIS and reformatted as required.  If you do reuse this data please ensure that you credit parlconst.org as the source.

Care has been taken in producing and checking these maps.  However, given the scale and nature of the project it is almost inevitable that there may be some errors. Should anything be found which doesn't look right, please let us know using the contact form, so that it may be corrected.

England (Southern)

1983 - 1997: England (Southern)

In 1987 there was an interim review affecting Crawley and Horsham (Constituency Group 28) which is reflected in the boundaries shown in the above map.

In 1992 an extra constituency was created in Milton Keynes (Constituency Group 22), the effects of which are not shown in the above map.

England (Midlands)

1983 - 1997: England (Midlands)

England (Northern)

1983 - 1997: England (Northern)